Paradise Waits

by Tom Edathikunnel

Image

I wrestled with the idea of creating a blog for some time. To be honest, the idea of having a blog and being a “blogger” sounded pretentious and self-inflating. It was not material itself that troubled me, but the idea that I was not important enough to have a blog worth reading. I imagined that anyone who read this blog would say to themselves, “who cares?”.

That was an error on my part, I was so enamored by the idea of others that I forgot that any blog is foremost the possession of the writer who creates it. This is my own, and is primarily for my own pleasure and discipline. I had forgot that creating and cultivating a blog was not so I could shout its name from the rooftops, or drive multitudes of readers to it, but that I had my own portal into the digital realm, where I could write whatever I wanted, whatever way I deemed fit.

To those who stumble upon this blog, please feel free to read, comment, and engage.

Image: Arches Morning by Roger Dean

